BOD 2020-21 – 8R Resolution to Honor President Leroy M. Morishita

WHEREAS, Associated Students, Incorporated (ASI) of California State University, East Bay (CSUEB) is the recognized voice of approximately 14,000 students; and

WHEREAS, it is the mission of the ASI Board of Directors to advocate and provide responsible and effective leadership for a diverse student population in order to make sound decisions for the betterment of CSUEB students; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Morishita has announced his retirement beginning Dec 31, 2020¹, after leading the university for nine years, since June 2011, and being Cal State East Bay's (formerly known as Cal State Hayward) fifth University President since its founding in 1957²; and

WHEREAS, among many of his accomplishments, President Morishita has 40 years of experience in higher education as an Educator, Coordinator, Counselor, Director, Chair Administrator, CFO, Vice President, and as Cal State East Bay's President; and

WHEREAS, his hard work and tireless efforts towards student success has helped graduate more than 40,000 students, of which approximately 50% were first-generation students, as well as leading Cal State East Bay's highest-ever fundra]i@veMr,È

RESOLVED, that copies of this resolution be distributed to the Office of the President, Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs, digitally to all students, admin, and faculty of CSUEB, a campus wide distribution, and any other relevant parties.

Authored by: Student Government, 2019-2020

Approved On: Wednesday, December 2, 2020

ASI President/CEO does hereby [] *approves* / [] *refuses to approve* this resolution.

Euridice Pamela Sanchez ASI President/CEO Kabir Dhillon ASI Chair of the Board of Directors

Student Government, 2019-2020

Student Government, 2020-2021

Daisy Maxion	President/CEO	Euridice Paw
Kabir Dhillon	Executive VP/Chief of Staff	
Melissa Baron	VP of Finance/CFO	
Siddharth Valecha	VP of University Affairs	
Riley Miller	VP of Communications	
Bronte Kuehnis	Chair	
Euridice Sanchez-Martinez	Director of Programming Council	
Yajaira Ortega-Huerta	Director of Legislative Affairs	
Lynn Vu	Director of Wellness	
Omer Shakoor	Director of Sustainability Affairs	

Director of Concord
Campus
Senator of CBE
Senator of CEAS
Senator of CLASS

Approved by: ASI Board of Directors 2020-2021